If Gambling Were Legal: Week Six College Football Picks

Posted: October 3, 2014 in Football

It’s pretty obvious that I eat, sleep, and breathe college sports. So it’s probably not hard to imagine that during the college football season, I usually get tons of requests from friends to pick games against the spread. Rarely do I receive text messages offering me portions of the money that I help them win, so I might as well start sharing this information for free. If you’re wondering, I assume that I am winning these people money because I’ve been getting these request for close to eight years. No one likes to lose money for that long. Each week I will  pick AT LEAST eight winners against the spread, and hopefully someone can benefit from my supposed wealth of sports knowledge. This is clearly the next step in my shameless quest to become the college sports version of Bill Simmons, but what can I say — I’m a fan.

*Lines courtesy of BOVADA Sports Book, and home teams are listed in CAPS

Louisville (-3) over SYRACUSE The Cardinals have a dynamic offense that won’t struggle to score points, but the Orange will definitely struggle to keep up.

Florida (+3) over TENNESSEE I know that Florida hasn’t looked particularly amazing against anyone this year, but they’re defense is top notch and Tennessee hasn’t proven themselves capable of beating a team like Florida. It will happen eventually, but a betting man has to jump at seeing Florida as a dog here.

Texas A&M (-2) over MISSISSIPPI STATE I’ve rang Mississippi State’s cowbell plenty since they beat LSU, but the Tigers team that Miss State beat isn’t a typical Les Miles outfit. Making them a practical toss up against a high powered offense like A&M’s makes this an easy decision.

Trevone Boykin is the ONLY reason why OU is only giving away six points to TCU. If the game stays close, it will have everything to do with the Frogs dual-threat QB.

Trevone Boykin is the ONLY reason why OU is only giving away six points to TCU. If the game stays close, it will have everything to do with the Frogs dual-threat QB.

Oklahoma (-6) over TEXAS CHRISTIANI will admit that I have yet to see TCU play this year, but I have a feeling people are betting rent money on this line. Beating Samford, Minnesota, and SMU gets you within six points of Oklahoma? I’d be a rich man if I lived in Vegas.

Alabama (-6) over OLE MISS I’m sure the Rebs will give Bama all they can handle, but this just seems like too tough of a task for a team that is still figuring out what it means to be a good football team.

Oregon State (-7) over COLORADOThe Buffs are an improved team, but they are still a very bad football team. The Beavers should be able to run away from Colorado even though the game is in Boulder.

Michigan (+2) over RUTGERS Is it possible that I am a delusional Michigan fan that refuses to believe that the wheels fell off weeks ago? Yes, that is very possible. Is it also possible that even a bad Michigan team should be favored against Rutgers? Yes, that is written in the Bible (not really, but it very well could be).

CINCINNATI (-4) over Memphis The Bearcats were exposed against Notre Dame, but this line is a definite overreaction. Cincy should easily beat Memphis.

Texas Tech (+14.5) over KANSAS STATE I have no confidence in the Red Raiders winning this game, but keeping it within 15 points seems very likely. Tech will score points, and Kansas State isn’t known for running it up.

South Carolina (-4) over KENTUCKY I don’t even think I need to defend this one. Kentucky has made great strides, but South Carolina is a legitimate SEC contender (despite their loss to Mizzou).

TRENDS:

  • I only picked one home team (Cincinnati over Memphis)
  • I only picked one game with a double digit line (Texas Tech over Kansas State)
  • I picked three underdogs to cover the spread, and I believe two of them will win outright (Michigan and Florida)

 

 

 

Agree? Disagree? Questions? Thoughts? Opinions? Advice? Write it down...